Political Database of the Americas, Base de Datos Políticos de las Américas

British Colombia: 2009 Provincial Elections


Alberta: Provincial Elections 1993-1997

Manitoba: Provincial Elections 1995-1999
New Brunswick: Provincial Elections 1995-1999
Newfoundland: Provincial Elections 1999
Nova Scotia: Provincial Elections 1999
Ontario: Provincial Elections 1995-1999
Prince Edward Island: Provincial Elections 1996-2000
Quebec: Provincial Elections 1994-1998
Saskatchewan: Provincial Elections 1995-1999
Acronyms: B.C. Liberal Party (Lib); New Democratic Party (NDP); Green Party (GRN); B.C. Conservative Party (CON)

May 12, 2009

Overall Electoral Results

Total number of seats 85
Incumbent Premier and party Gordon Campbell, BC Liberal Party
Turn-out 50.99%
New House seat configuration: Lib - 49; NDP- 36
New Premier and party Gordon Campbell, BC Liberal Party

Electoral Referendum

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

* The existing system (First-Past-the-Post, FTPT)
* The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform

For BC-STV to be selected as the preferred electoral system and for the result to be binding on government, two thresholds must be met:

1. At least 60% of the valid votes province-wide must be cast in favour of BC-STV
2. In at least 51 of the 85 electoral districts, more than 50% of the valid votes in the electoral district must be cast in favour of BC-STV

STV Referendum Overall Results

Provincial Vote Total 971,723 623,366
% of Provincial Vote 60.9% 39.1%
Number of electoral districts with 50% or more of the valid votes cast in favour of BC-STV: 7


Sources: Elections BC and CBC

Last updated / Ultima actualización: July 20, 2009

Return to Electoral Systems Page
Return to PDBA Home Page